What are the top book recommendations for 'victorian gothic mystery'?

We found 448 book recommendations
Readers also searched for:
horrorclassicsage gap romancefun booksfemale authorsscariest bookyoung adult
Book Recommendations

Page 1: Showing books 1 - 10 of 448

#1

In this "miraculous and thrilling" (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of... Read more about Things in Jars

#2

Mount Mellyn stood as proud and magnificent as she had envisioned...But what bout its master-Connan TreMellyn? Was Martha Leigh's new employer as romantic as his name sounded? As she approached the sprawling mansion towering above the cliffs of Cornw... Read more about Mistress of Mellyn

#3

Nene Award (Hawaii)

Nevada Young Readers' Award

Colorado Children's Book Award

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES ... Read more about The Bad Beginning

#4

As she sits in her Bloomsbury home, with her two birds for company, elderly Harriet Baxter sets out to relate the story of her acquaintance, nearly four decades previously, with Ned Gillespie, a talented artist who never achieved the fame she maintai... Read more about Gillespie and I

#5

A page-turning late-Victorian mystery by a master, The Glass of Time is for fans of The Meaning of Night and for readers new to Michael Cox alike. Picking up the lives of characters from the first novel some twenty years later, The Glass of Time begi... Read more about The Glass of Time

#6

Ben and Marian Rolfe are desperate to escape a stifling summer in their tiny Brooklyn apartment, so when they get the chance to rent a mansion in upstate New York for the entire season for only $900, it's an offer that's too good to refuse.

There's o... Read more about Burnt Offerings

#7

"She looked so irresistibly beautiful as she said those brave words that no man alive could have steeled his heart against her."

In love with the beautiful heiress Laura Fairlie, the impoverished art teacher Walter Hartright finds his romantic desire... Read more about The Woman in White

#8

B is for Brontë. A novel of intense power and intrigue, Jane Eyre dazzles and shocks readers with its passionate depiction of a woman's search for equality and freedom. Orphaned Jane Eyre grows up in the home of her heartless aunt, where she endures ... Read more about Jane Eyre

#9

Of the many admiring reviews Bram Stoker's Dracula received when it first appeared in 1897, the most astute praise came from the author's mother, who wrote her son: "It is splendid. No book since Mrs. Shelley's Frankenstein or indeed any other at all... Read more about Dracula

#10

A young governess is employed to look after two orphaned children in a grand country house. Isolated and inexperienced, she is at first charmed by her young charges but gradually she suspects that they may not be as innocent as they seem. And do the ... Read more about The Turn of the Screw

Page 1 of 45Next Page
Poor results?
Help Us Improve

Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.