What are the most recommended books matching 'pure beauty'?

We found 1340 book recommendations
Readers also searched for:
historical fictionmagic schoolromancespeculative fictionhistorical romancememoirsclassics
Book Recommendations

Page 1: Showing 1 - 10 of 1340

#1

Originally published in 1968, Ursula K. Le Guin's A Wizard of Earthsea marks the first of the six now beloved Earthsea titles. Ged was the greatest sorcerer in Earthsea, but in his youth he was the reckless Sparrowhawk. In his hunger for power and kn... Read more about A Wizard of Earthsea

The Island of Gont, a single mountain that lifts its peak a mile above the storm-racked Northeast Sea, is a land famous for wizards. From the towns in its high valleys and the ports on its dark narrow...

#2

What do readers say about The Housekeeper and the Professor?

spare and preciseunderstated and elegantbrief and sparean unlikely relationship

Yoko Ogawa's The Housekeeper and the Professor is an enchanting story about what it means to live in the present, and about the curious equations that can create a family.

He is a brilliant math Professor with a peculiar problem-ever since a traumat... Read more about The Housekeeper and the Professor

"Yes, there is," he said, pointing at his chest. "It's in here. It'sthe most discreet sort of number, so it never comes out where itcan be seen. But it's here." We fell silent for a moment, trying top...

#3

A literary sensation and runaway bestseller, this brilliant debut novel tells with seamless authenticity and exquisite lyricism the true confessions of one of Japan's most celebrated geisha.

Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's Th... Read more about Memoirs of a Geisha

Suppose that you and I were sitting in a quiet room overlooking a garden, chatting and sipping at our cups of green tea while we talked about something that had happened a long while ago, and I said t...

#4

Ulysses' takes place in a single day, 16 June 1904, also known as Bloomsday, it sets the characters and incidents of the Odyssey of Homer in modern Dublin and represents Odysseus (Ulysses), Penelope and Telemachus in the characters of Leopold Bloom, ... Read more about Ulysses

STATELY, PLUMP BUCK MULLIGAN CAME FROM THE STAIRHEAD, bearing a bowl of lather on which a mirror and a razor lay crossed. A yellow dressinggown, ungirdled, was sustained gently behind him by the mild ...

#5

Read the searing first novel from the celebrated author of Beloved, which immerses us in the tragic, torn lives of a poor black family in post-Depression 1940s Ohio.

Unlovely and unloved, Pecola prays each night for blue eyes like those of her priv... Read more about The Bluest Eye

Nuns go by as quiet as lust, and drunken men with sober eyes sing in the lobby of the Greek hotel. Rosemary Villanucci, our next-door friend who lives above her father's cafe, sits in a 1939 Buick eat...

#6

A prescient warning of a future we now inhabit, where fake news stories and Internet conspiracy theories play to a disaffected American populace

"A glorious book . . . A spirited defense of science . . . From the first page to the last, this book is ... Read more about The Demon-Haunted World

It was a blustery fall day in 1939. In the streets outside the apartment building, fallen leaves were swirling in little whirlwinds, each with a life of its own. It was good to be inside and warm and ...

#7

"Written with love, told with joy. Very easy to enjoy."-Fredrik Backman, author of A Man Called Ove

For fans of The Little Paris Bookshop and The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared comes a heartwarming debut about 96-year-old... Read more about The Red Address Book

The saltshaker. The pillbox. The bowl of lozenges. The blood-pressure monitor in its oval plastic case. The magnifying glass and its red bobbin-lace strap, taken from a Christmas curtain, tied in thre...

#8

A number-one bestseller when it was first published in 1948, this powerful novel is a compelling vision of nineteenth-century America with timeless resonance. Throughout a single day in 1892, John Shawnessy recalls the great moments of his life-from ... Read more about Raintree County

before the cabin. At the bottom of the yard, a rudely sculptured head stood on the gatepost by the road. Johnny had helped T. D. make it, and they called it Henry Clay, maybe because it had been made ...

#9

Sixteen-year-old Deirdre Monaghan is a painfully shy but prodigiously gifted musician. She's about to find out she's also a cloverhand―one who can see faeries.

Deirdre finds herself infatuated with a mysterious boy who enters her ordinary suburban li... Read more about Lament

Standing behind our dusty station wagon, I blinked out of my daze and tugged my harp case out of the back, feeling nauseated. It struck me that Mom’s statement was just about the only reason I needed ...

#10

A psychic's bodyguard begins to question who needs protecting most

There is a house called Neath that holds a dark and terrible secret, and in that house there is a psychic called Kline who is part of its secret. The Keeper is guardian of the house,... Read more about Sepulchre

The sign for Achilles’ Shield was as discreet as its business: a brass plaque against rough brick mounted inside a doorway, the shiny plate no more than eight by four inches, a small right-angled tria...

Page 1 of 134Next Page
Poor results?
Help Us Improve

Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.