What are the top book recommendations for 'dark and raw'?

We found 756 books you might enjoy

Readers also searched for:
made me cry highly rated book boyfriends shapeshifter horror disturbing books scariest book
Books
Page 1: Showing 1 - 10 of 756
#1

The monster in Conor’s backyard is not the one he’s been expecting — the one from the nightmare he’s had every night since his mother started her treatments. This monster is ancient. And wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and... View details

He’d had a nightmare. Well, not a nightmare. The nightmare. The one he’d been having a lot lately. The one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming. The one with the hands slipping from his gr...
Liked A Monster Calls?
See 1213 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#2

A School Library Journal Best Book of 2013

An ALA/YALSA Alex Award Winner

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and mu... View details

August in Florida means three things: heat, oppressive humidity, and school. School. I haven’t been to school in over two years. Not unless you count sitting at the kitchen table being homeschooled by...
Liked The Sea of Tranquility?
See 230 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#3

The conclusion to the Cat and Mouse Duet is here...

The Diamond

Death walks alongside me,

But the reaper is no match for me.... View details

Liked Hunting Adeline?
See 86 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#4

One of TIME's 100 Best Fantasy Books of All Time

Winner of the L.A. Times Ray Bradbury Prize

Finalist for the 2019 National Book Award

The New York Times Bestseller ... View details

I hear there is a queen in the south who kills the man who brings her bad news. So when I give word of the boy’s death, do I write my own death with it? Truth eats lies just as the crocodile eats the ...
Liked Black Leopard, Red Wolf?
See 736 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#5

Secret letters spark true love in this emotionally compelling romance perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Stephanie Perkins. A Zoella Book Club Pick 2017.

Juliet Young always writes letters to her mother, a world-traveling photojournalist. Even after... View details

There’s this photograph I can’t get out of my mind. A little girl in a flowered dress is screaming in the dark. Blood is everywhere: on her cheeks, on her dress, in spattered droplets on the ground. A...
Liked Letters to the Lost?
See 228 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#6

Last Night I Sang to the Monster was chosen as one of the Top Ten YA Books of Fiction in 2010.

Zach is eighteen, bright, and articulate. He's also an alcoholic, in rehab instead of high school, but he doesn't remember how he got there. What's up with... View details

He just looked at me and nodded. I knew he was thinking. Adam, he likes to think—and he’s a friendly guy but I was not into friendly. “I have homework for you,” he said. Homework. Okay. “I want you to...
Liked Last Night I Sang to the Monster?
See 40 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#7

***This book has also been published as Where the Moon Isn't.***

Winner of the 2013 Costa First Award

"A stunning novel. Ambitious and exquisitely realized . . . clearly the work of a major new talent." -S. J. Watson, New York Times bestselling autho... View details

I stood at the spot where you had to stand when it was your turn to count, which was beside the recycling bins, next to the shop selling disposable barbecues and spare tent pegs. And near to there is ...
Liked The Shock of the Fall?
See 82 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#8

"Top-notch" -USA Today

"Illuminating" -Washington Post

"A breath of fresh air" -Entertainment Weekly

"Memorable" -People ... View details

As a member of the family, you have a right to know what’s going on. Dad agrees but says I should avoid “topics of substance and despair.” When I asked how he propose I do this, seeing as our family i...
Liked Mosquitoland?
See 39 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#9

SHE WOULD DARE ANYTHING TO SAVE THE WORLD FROM HIS RULE.

EVEN HIS BED.

He ascended from the darkness years ago-Azrael the Eternal, Azrael the Undying, Azrael Who Is Death-bringing with him the black rains, the fires, the souring of the sky, and t... View details

Lan got out, moving carefully along the van’s armored roof and trying not to look at the Eaters clambering below her. They hadn’t seen many on the drive, but there were always Eaters at the towns and ...
Liked Land of the Beautiful Dead?
See 715 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
#10

"A novelistic mosaic that simultaneously reads like a thriller and like a strange, dreamlike excursion into the subconscious." -The New York Times

Years ago, when House of Leaves was first being passed around, it was nothing more than a badly bundled... View details

§Provide examples of hand shadows ranging from crabs, snails, rabbits,and turtles to dragons, panthers, tigers, and kangaroos. Also includehippos, frogs, elephants, birds of paradise, dogs, cockatoos,...
Liked House of Leaves?
See 3747 similar books
Save As:
Rate It:
Page 1 of 76Next Page
Poor experience?
Please Help Us Improve
Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.