What are the most recommended books matching 'a kidnapped child'?

We found 206 book recommendations
Readers also searched for:
treasure huntpirateshorrorclassicsdisturbing booksscariest bookunreliable narrator
Book Recommendations

Page 1: Showing 1 - 10 of 206

#1

In this "miraculous and thrilling" (Diane Setterfield, #1 New York Times bestselling author) mystery for fans of The Essex Serpent and The Book of Speculation, Victorian London comes to life as an intrepid female sleuth wades through a murky world of... Read more about Things in Jars

The raven levels off into a glide, flight feathers fanned. Slick on the rolling level of rising currents and down-draughts, she turns her head, this way and that. To her black eye, as black as pooled ...

#2

Abby Cooper is a P.I., psychic intuitive. But her insight failed her when she didn't foresee the death of one of her clients-or that the lead investigator for the case is the gorgeous blind date she just met. Now, with the police suspicious of her ab... Read more about Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye

My basic philosophy is simple: People are like ice cream. Take me, for instance. You'd think that by my profession alone—professional psychic—I'd be a ringer for Nutty Coconut, but the reality is that...

#3

The award-winning bestseller that became one of the most talked about and memorable novels of the decade, Room is "utterly gripping…a heart-stopping novel" (San Francisco Chronicle).

Held captive for years in a small shed, a woman and her precociou... Read more about Room

I count one hundred cereal and waterfall the milk that's nearly the same white as the bowls, no splashing, we thank Baby Jesus. I choose Meltedy Spoon with the white all blobby on his handle when he l...

#4

A teenage girl is held captive and brutally tortured by neighborhood children. Based on a true story, this shocking novel reveals the depravity of which we are all capable.

This novel contains graphic content and is recommended for regular readers of... Read more about The Girl Next Door

She is driving down a rain-slick highway on a hot summer morning in a rented Volvo, her lover by her side, driving slowly and carefully because she knows how treacherous new rain on hot streets can be...

#5

The #1 New York Times bestseller about a famous novelist held hostage in a remote location by his "number one fan." One of "Stephen King's best…genuinely scary" (USA TODAY).

Bestselling novelist Paul Sheldon thinks he's finally free of Misery Chastai... Read more about Misery

But sometimes the sounds—like the pain—faded, and then there was only the haze. He remembered darkness: solid darkness had come before the haze. Did that mean he was making progress? Let there be ligh...

#6

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A twisted psychological thriller you'll have trouble putting down."-People

"If you liked Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, you might want to pick up The Widow by Fiona Barton. Engrossing. Suspenseful."-Stephen King

F... Read more about The Widow

I can hear the sound of her crunching up the path. Heavy-footed in high heels. She’s almost at the door, hesitating and smoothing her hair out of her face. Nice outfit: jacket with big buttons, decent...

#7

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller-Jaycee Dugard's raw and powerful memoir, her own story of being kidnapped in 1991 and held captive for more than eighteen years.

In the summer of June of 1991, I was a normal kid. I did normal things. I had fri... Read more about A Stolen Life

It is an ordinary Monday morning school day. I have woken up early this morning of June 10th, 1991. I am waiting for my mom to come in my room before she goes to work to kiss me good-bye. I made a poi...

#8

Discover John Fowles' compelling classic first novel

'Short and spare and direct, an intelligent thriller with psychological and social overtones' Sunday Times

Withdrawn, uneducated and unloved, Frederick collects butterflies and takes photographs. H... Read more about The Collector

#9

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Stephen King whose "storytelling transcends genre" (Newsday) comes "another winner: creepy and touching and horrifyingly believable" (The Boston Globe) about a group of kids confronting evil.

In the middle of... Read more about The Institute

Half an hour after Tim Jamieson’s Delta flight was scheduled to leave Tampa for the bright lights and tall buildings of New York, it was still parked at the gate. When a Delta agent and a blond woman ...

#10

When old drunken sailor Billy Bones dies at the Admiral Benbow Inn, the innkeeper's son Jim Hawkins finds a map amongst his possessions. The local physician, Doctor Livesey, and the squire, Trelawney, believe the map is of an island where the infamou... Read more about Treasure Island

How that personage haunted my dreams, I need scarcely tell you. On stormy nights, when the wind shook the four corners of the house and the surf roared along the cove and up the cliffs, I would see hi...

Page 1 of 21Next Page
Poor results?
Help Us Improve

Search Tip: If you know the title of a book you enjoyed, you can find books to read after by selecting it from the search dropdown.