Beyond the Deepwoods

The Edge Chronicles (chronological) Series (Book 4)

Paul Stewart
Save As:
Rate It:


Young Twig lives in the Deepwoods, among the Woodtrolls, but he isn't one of them. In a brave attempt to find out where he belongs, Twig wanders into the mysterious, dangerous world beyond the Deepwoods. He meets a collection of odd companions, such as his wise guardian, the Caterbird; the Slaughterers, a peaceful race who butcher animals for their livelihood; and the vicious, bile-swilling Rotsucker. Always watching out for the horrible Gloamglozer, whose presence haunts the thoughts of all the inhabitants of The Edge, Twig steadfastly pursues his quest until he discovers his roots, not among the trees, but in the skies. . . .


Twig moaned as the ropes tumbled back through the air beneath him. He spread his legs wide and held his feet out, hooked and rigid. The slaughterers tried again, but with Gristle pulling him still hig...

About the Author:

Paul Stewart is the author of many books for children including The Midnight Hand and The Wakening. He lives in Brighton, England.

Chris Riddell has illustrated many books for children and has been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal and the Kurt Maschler Award. He is also the acclaimed political cartoonist for the Guardian and the Observer. He lives in Sussex, England.


No Reviews Yet. Please leave a review and help other readers decide

What can you read after
Beyond the Deepwoods?