The Final Empire

Mistborn (Book 1)

Save As:
Rate It:


From #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson, the Mistborn series is a heist story of political intrigue and magical, martial-arts action.

For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the "Sliver of Infinity," reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible. Then, when hope was so long lost that not even its memory remained, a terribly scarred, heart-broken half-Skaa rediscovered it in the depths of the Lord Ruler's most hellish prison. Kelsier "snapped" and found in himself the powers of a Mistborn. A brilliant thief and natural leader, he turned his talents to the ultimate caper, with the Lord Ruler himself as the mark.

Kelsier recruited the underworld's elite, the smartest and most trustworthy allomancers, each of whom shares one of his many powers, and all of whom relish a high-stakes challenge. Only then does he reveal his ultimate dream, not just the greatest heist in history, but the downfall of the divine despot.

But even with the best criminal crew ever assembled, Kel's plan looks more like the ultimate long shot, until luck brings a ragged girl named Vin into his life. Like him, she's a half-Skaa orphan, but she's lived a much harsher life. Vin has learned to expect betrayal from everyone she meets, and gotten it. She will have to learn to trust, if Kel is to help her master powers of which she never dreamed.

This saga dares to ask a simple question: What if the hero of prophecy fails?


Vin watched the downy flakes drift through the air. Leisurely. Careless. Free. The puffs of soot fell like black snowflakes, descending upon the dark city of Luthadel. They drifted in corners, blowing...

About the Author:

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. He is the author of such bestsellers as the Mistborn® trilogy and its sequels, The Alloy of Law, Shadows of Self, and The Bands of Mourning; the Stormlight Archive novels The Way of Kings and Words of Radiance; and other novels, including The Rithmatist and Steelheart. In 2013, he won a Hugo Award for Best Novella for The Emperor's Soul, set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. Additionally, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time® sequence.

Ratings (166):

Incredible (45)
Loved It (68)
Liked It (36)
It Was OK (11)
Did Not Like (3)
Hated It (3)

Reader Stats (283):

Read It (171)
Currently Reading (4)
Want To Read (91)
Did Not Finish (3)
Not Interested (14)


Reka A. Vass
fantasy, crime mystery, world building

The Mistborn series is one of my favourite trilogies, I absolutely loved the world Sanderson built, the characters, and how the events all came together by the end of the third book. It's hard to write a review of what the book is about without spoiling anything, but if you want to read it, you're in for a ride.

1 reader liked this
1/18/2023 10:06:18 PM
fantasy, easy reads, action fantasy

Probably one of the best books for those who are new to the fantasy genre. Not a bad book even if you are an experienced fantasy reader.

The magic system is good-innovative even and the plot is interesting.

The characters are well developed as well and overall there is a good reason why the series is so popular. The prose is straight forward and simple.

An ‘easy read’, great action, some humor and a fun read.

1 reader liked this
12/27/2022 2:45:59 PM
Loved It
epic fantasy, magic, strong female lead

One of Sanderson's most popular works/series. This is a great intro to the fantasy genre and the writer. The plot moves fast, the action is well written and the characters are very interesting.

The magic system is unique!

1 reader liked this
11/16/2022 12:41:16 PM

What can you read after
The Final Empire?